Eileen off to a winning start

22 February 2015
Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – member Eileen Burns got her 2015 season off to the best possible start when she won Sunday’s Phoenix Grand Prix women’s race at Nutt's corner.

Ryan Bankhead was sixth in the A3 race; all the day’s events were held in atrocious weather conditions.

Afterwards Eileen said. "It was a great race. I went very earlier in the first mile or so. I was able to make up my starting handicap and then I had another go in the last mile on my own to take the race. It was a nice achievement – I hope the first of many a challenge for 2015.”

Phoenix GP Women’s Race
1.Eileen Burns (Ballymena Road Club)
2.Orlagh Montague (Dublin Wheelers)
3.Lorraine Jeffers (East Tyrone)
4.Louise McAuley (Carrickfergus CC)

Phoenix GP A3 Race
1.Chris McGlinchey (Chain Reaction Cycles)
2.John McLaughlin (CCT)
3.Melvin Steele (East Tyrone)
4.Jordan McGinley (Team ITAP)
5.Glen Howe (Bann Wheelers)
6.Ryan Bankhead (Ballymena RC Chain Reaction Cycles)

Phoenix CC A1/A2 Race – George Rooney Trophy
1.David Watson (North Down)
2.David Hamilton (North Down)
3.Gary Jeffers (East Tyrone)

Phoenix GP 50 + Masters Race
1.Michael Tolan (Phoenix)
2.Stephen Fletcher (East Antrim)
3.Paul Kirk (North Down)

Phoenix GP A4 Race
1.Glenn McKendry (Madigan)
2.Richard McCavana (Phoenix)
3.Andy Nicolson (Phoenix)