Cyclists successful at Council's sports awards evening.

02 February 2015
There was success for Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – at last Thursday night’s Ballymena Borough Council sports awards dinner.
Eileen Burns, from Rossburn Manor in Kells, won the adult sportsperson of the year award. Eileen had huge success in 2014, which was her first season in open competition.
She won the Ulster ladies time trial championship events at no fewer than four distances – 10 miles, 25, 50 and 100 miles and also the season long Ulster ladies time trial league competition.
Commenting on her award Eileen said "It was a great night. It was great that BRC was so well represented and recognised for both sporting performance and also the hard work and dedication it takes from people like yourself Richard so that I can race. I was not expecting to walk away with a prize on Thursday evening. 
It was enough to be nominated by my club and then short listed for an award. To be awarded Ballymena Sports person of the year fills me with great pride, and it has given me even more motivated to try my best to go better in 2015. It's nice to know that all the occasions I was trying my best at the time trials it was not done in vain.”
BRC treasurer Richard Wilson was also a winner. He picked up the services to sport award.
Richard has been a member of the club’s management committee since 1976 when, at just 19 years of age, he became the club’s youngest ever Chairman. 
Since then he has been race secretary, general secretary, treasurer and press officer. Richard said "It’s brilliant to be recognised in this way and it’s very special to win in what is the final year of the awards in their present format. I see this award as a great achievement for the road club as we have a small but dedicated team of hard working officials who are all volunteers and, although amateurs conduct themselves in a very professional manner. I dedicate the award to all my fellow committee members and to those who support the running of the club in any way. They are all worthy of similar recognition” 
The road club have fared well during the 17 years of the local sports awards. Other club members who have been successful include Liam Nelson, Ryan Connor (seven times), Alan Mark and Rex Bonar.