Cream of Ulster's cyclists attend awards night in Toomebridge

13 January 2015
The annual Cycling Ulster awards night took place last Saturday evening, 10th January, in the White River Hotel in Toomebridge.
The function was very well attended with over 150 competitors and supporters from various cycling clubs throughout Ulster present. 
The guest of honour was Denis Toomey, who is the current President of Cycling Ireland.
Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – President Alan Mark, who is also the Chairman of the NICF, and his wife Mary were also special guests.
Their daughter Joan and her husband Hugh McCullough, from the organising committee of the Tour of the North stage race, were also present.
Alan was afforded the honour of presenting some of the trophies at the function.
Jason Burns was one of the BRC cyclists in attendance; he said "Ballymena Road club was well represented at the dinner with BRC riders prominent amongst the prize winners especially in the Time Trial categories.”
"Steven Workman continued his success in the Ulster Time Trial championships during 2014 and he collected two Ulster bronze medals for the 50 and 100 mile distances.”
"Laura Blair, despite being in just her first season at a competitive level, collected a bronze medal for the Ulster ladies 25 miles Time Trial Championships.” 
"Eileen Burns completely dominated the ladies Ulster Time Trial scene in 2014, and she lifted five awards on Saturday night.
Eileen collected gold as Ulster Ladies’ Time Trial Champion for all four distances 10, 25, 50 and 100 miles, as well as being crowned overall winner of the Ulster Time Trial League.” 
"The Ladies continued to fly the flag for BRC by winning gold in the Ulster Team Time Trial championships, the successful team consisted of Eileen Burns, Laura Blair, Emma Smyth and Claire Gillespie.”
"It was also great to see Ballymena man Darrell Erwin in attendance at the dinner. Darrell was Ulster hand cycling champion in 2014” added Jason.