24 November 2014
Despite many club members being up late at the prize presentation dinner there was still a total of 64 present for the penultimate ride in this year’s fun tour series. The weather was again favourable as the three main groups headed out, and got even better as the morning progressed.
The tourists completed a 42 miles ride to Ballyconnolly, Townhill, Kilrea then on to Upperlands, Maghera and back by Portglenone and Ahoghill.
The 20 riders in the "B” group completed a 48 miles ride, at a 17.5mph average, to Glenarm, Carnlough, Waterfoot and Glenariff.
The "A” group completed a 70 miles ride at 18.6mph average which went to Coagh, Cookstown, Davagh forest and Draperstown.
Gold medal winners on Saturday were: Sammy Connor, Bert Kernohan, John Maxwell, Patsy McGurk, Bernie Monaghan, Paddy Mooney, Lori Phillips, Kay Rainey and Richard Wilson.
Winning silver for eight tours were: Geoff Bell, Alan Blair, Jim Doherty, Ronnie Grant, Alastair Petticrew, Peter Simpson and Alastair Wylie.
Earning their bronze medals for five tours were Ricky Cromie, Derek Dougan, Keith Elliott, Ryan Hadley, William Jackson, Quinton McFall and John Shaw. This Saturday is the thirteenth and final fun tour of the series.
The next touring event on the schedule is the annual tour to the "Waterwall” for Marie Curie cancer care. Paddy Mooney is the host for this tour on Saturday 6th December.
The Ballymena RC charity fund received a boost this week when another £20 was donated the total is now £1061. This will be donated to the Chernobyl Children’s Appeal NI at next month’s presentation in the town hall.