09 November 2014
The cyclists on Saturday’s Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – fun tours had to endure the worse weather so far in this year’s series. Wet and cold conditions made it a difficult day but there was still a big turnout with a total of 75 riders assembling at Rex Bonar house at the start and once again they headed out in three groups.
The touring section completed a 41 miles ride which took in Gracehill, Ballymontena, Taylorstown, Moneyglass, Toomebridge, Bellaghy, Mullaghboy, Mayogall, Clady, Portglenone and up Tully.
Club chairman John Maxwell was absent with the "B” group being led by Jim Burns instead. Jim said "it was very cold at the start we had sun in the middle and rain from Maghera. Our route was - Cullybackey, Kilrea, Garvagh, Swatragh, Maghera, Portglenone. Then up Tully and back to Ballymena.  
We did 53 miles at 17.4mph average.
Alan Blair’s "A” group had the furthest and fastest tour as they completed a 62 miles ride at 18.2 mph. Their route was Kells, Parkgate, Ballyclare, Kilwaughter, Larne, Glenarm and home.
Another £15 was donated to the charity fund on Saturday and this now stands at a total of £1021, and, with three more weeks to go, the £1050, which was the record total collected last year may still be beaten, especially if those who haven’t made a donation yet can do so.
Saturday was ride ten in the series and forty riders earned bronze or silver medals during ride nine and ten.
The successful riders were: Bronze (for five tours) Maurice Carruthers, Darren Crawford, Nigel Kernohan, Tom Caulfield, Sarah Elliott, Siobhan Fisher, Adrian Kirkpatrick, Breandan McCavana, Paul Patterson, Stephen Smyth and Simon Taggart.
Earning silver for eight or more tours were: Adrian Archibald, Alan Blair, Maura Bradley, Jim Burns, Fergus Byrne, Sammy Connor, Bobby Currie, Hazel Hughes, Bert Kernohan, Patsy McGurk, Trevor Magee, Gerry McCullagh, Beresford Millar, Bernie Monaghan, Paddy Mooney, Owen McLaughlin, Paul McQuillan, Paul McWilliams, Francis O’Kane, Lori Phillips, Kay Rainey, Davy Rankin, Derwood Ritchie, Colin Scullion, Jonathan Scullion, Maria Shannon, Andrew Wills, Sean Wright and Wilnor Worthington.
Road Club’s prize presentation dinner.
Tickets have been selling very quickly for the Ballymena Road Club’s 60th anniversary prize presentation dinner and dance, which is scheduled to be held at Leighinmohr House Hotel on Friday 21st November.
ALL those who have booked a ticket and haven’t paid yet must do so this week.  Please contact Richard Wilson for details.