AP Broughshane

13 April 2011

Aussie rules at Broughshane.

Ballymena Road Club Northstone cyclists held their first club race of the season last Wednesday at Broughshane on the Buckna to Sheddings course.

It proved to be a night for the early starters as the scratch riders failed to make up their starting handicap during the 11 miles event.

This left the way clear for Bann Valley visitor Gerry McCullagh to register his first BRC win when he crossed the finish line just ahead of Steven Carruthers with Tom Douds third. (4) Adam Kerr (5) Sean Kelly (Bann Valley) (6) John Maxwell all timed at 27 minutes 18 seconds.

(7) Steven Workman at 1 minute 37 seconds (8) Harry Thompson (9) Simon Taggart (10) Matthew Brennan all same time (11) Uel Cunningham (Michelin) (12) Ryan Currie (13) Leo McAllister (Slane) (14) Tommy Wilson (15) Beresford Millar (16) Conor McAllister all same time (17) Adam McCullough at 2 minutes 02 seconds (18) Maeve Savage at 2.09 (19) John McAllister at 2.09 (20) Declan Butler (Michelin) at 3 minutes 50 seconds (21) Martin Robb (Bann Valley) (22) Clifford Grant (23) Maurice Carruthers at same time (24) Sam Campbell at 5.39.

The youth race over the same course went to Emma Gordon in 41 minutes 56 seconds with Josh Barr in second place.