Australian Pursuit at Slaght - 27.4.2011

29 April 2011

Declan takes APR win at Slaght.

Declan Butler (Michelin) was the winner of last Wednesday night's Ballymena Road Club Northstone - 18 miles Australian pursuit race at Slaght corner.

There was another encouraging entry of 25 riders and they went off in four main groups and then completed two laps of the Caddy circuit.

The front groups came together but when the scratch men failed to reach the front of the race it was an opportunity for others to take the spoils.

A group of ten contested the final miles and Declan led them home in 45 minutes 01 seconds.

His Michelin club mate Alastair Neeson was second and Alan Blair third.

Next it was round one winner Gerry McCullagh (Bann Valley) with an ever improving Harry Thompson fifth. (6) Bobby Currie (7) David Kennedy (8) Sean Kelly (Bann Valley) (9) Sam Campbell (Bann Valley) (10) Martin Ruddy all timed at 45.01.

(11) Uel Cunningham (Michelin) at 58 seconds (12) Mark McCullough (13) Simon Taggart (14) Steven Workman (15) Nigel Kernohan all at 58 seconds.

(16) Ryan Currie at 1.29 (17) Peter Smyth at 1.57 (18) Alan McKee (Michelin) (19) Steven Carruthers (20) Beresford Millar (21) Adam McCullough (22) Leo McCavana all at 1.57 (23) Brian Geddis at 3.39 (24) Stephen Smyth at 4.14.

Youths (one lap) (1) Adam Kerr 27.29 (2) Josh Barr 32.59

Harry Thompson leads after the first two rounds of this mini series. He has 14 points, Alan Blair and Steven Carruthers are equal second on 10 points with Tom Douds and Steven Workman next on 9 points each. Then it's Simon Taggart, Bobby Currie and Adam Kerr all on 8 points. The third and final round will take place at Ahoghill on 20th July.

Related Documents