Awards Dinner Sold out!

19 November 2013
Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – will hold its annual prize presentation dinner and dance this Friday evening 22nd November at Eaton Park from 7.30pm.
This is the highlight of the club’s social season and represents an opportunity, not only to present the perpetual trophies and honour their recipients, but also to acknowledge the support and assistance, both financial and in kind, of all the club’s generous backers.
Tickets for Friday night’s event sold out over two weeks ago, with a total of 128 expected to attend. This is the biggest turnout since the club’s golden jubilee dinner, which saw the legendary Sean Kelly as guest of honour in 2004.
All the Winners.
This season’s club race series was sponsored by Northstone, which was the company’s thirty first season backing the Railway Street based club.
The youth section events were organised by Adrian Kerr with assistance from Hazel Gordon, Joan McCullough and a few others along the way.
Breandan McCavana was the top youth section rider and won five trophies which included the Kerr and McAuley cup for the youth road racing league. Breandan also won the Dave Millar cup for the season long youth racing league which included time trials and road races and the Clarkes tyres cup for the road race at Broughshane.
He will also collect the Samuel Mark shield for the youths’ time trial BAR with an average speed of 22.796 mph, Hayden Ritchie was second with 19.550 mph.
Breandan also won the youth mini stage race "schools championship” event at Broughshane for the Greer cup and, along with his St Louis school mate Caolan Stuart, the Brian Russell inter schools trophy.
Caolan Stuart won the Sandy Spence cup for the end of season road race at Glarryford.
George Graham won the A Bonar cup road race at Broughshane and will also collect the track shield for the event at Ballymena showgrounds.
The club’s junior champion is Connor Young who recorded times of 10 minutes 22 seconds for five miles, 21 minutes 05 seconds for 10 miles and 57.31 for 25 miles for an overall winning average speed of 27.826 mph.
Connor also won the Ballymena Borough Council cup for the three day race and the Star Trophy, Grand Prix of the Glens road race.
The club’s ladies champion is Eileen Burns and she will collect the "rose bowl” as winner of the ladies time trial BAR with a record average speed of 25.225 mph. During the season Eileen also won the Combat Cancer cup for the 25 miles time trial and won the season long time trial handicap league competition.
Michael Carroll topped the veterans section for the Henderson cup. He won this age standard contest by beating his standard times, over 10, 25 and 50 miles, by a total of 1 hour 12 minutes 07 seconds. This was a new club competition record performance. Michael also won the Stan Finlay memorial 10 miles time trial rose bowl.
Tommy Wilson who won the H & M Wilson cup road race at Slaght and the William Smyth trophy for the club’s season long road racing league series, which he won for the seventh time.
Ryan Bankhead won the Australian Pursuit mini-series, for the Tommy Smyth cup, by winning the first race at Broughshane and finishing second in the second round on the Caddy circuit. Ryan also won the Sammy Gaston cup road race at Glarryford.
Matthew Brennan won the Sammy Connor cup at Broughshane, which this year was the club’s road race championship. Matthew’s Uncle - Clifford Grant won the Will Henry cup road race at Glarryford.