Ballymena Club Racing

17 April 2013
Ballymena Road Club Chain Reaction Cycles held their first race of the Northstone sponsored club race season last Wednesday night at Broughshane.
There was a big turnout of 40 riders for the Australian pursuit race, which covered two laps of the Broughshane Buckna, Braid Sheddings, Carnlough road circuit.
Thankfully conditions, while very cold, were bright and dry and this was a great opener for the season. Scratch rider Ryan Bankhead, who won the inter club series last year, was in top sprinting form and he led in the big bunch sprint to take the honours. Earlier the riders had gone off in three groups with the handicap unwinding late on the second circuit thus creating a mass bunch sprint, thank goodness for the cameraman!
The APR mini-series has two rounds this year with the recipient of the Tommy Smyth cup being decided on the Caddy circuit Wednesday evening 24th April.
(1) Ryan Bankhead (Ballymena - Chain Reaction Cycles) Winning Time 50minutes 35 seconds (2) David Dougan (3) Chris Beattie (4) Uel Cunningham Ballymoney CC (5) Clifford Grant (6) Michael Carroll  (7) Brian Geddis (8) Ryan Currie (9) Alan Blair (10) Martin Ruddy (11) Karl Taylor (12) Hall Booth (13) Barry Fullerton (14) Richard Reid (15) Declan Butler Team Bibsport (16) Stephen Smyth (17) Ryan Connor (18) Colin Scullion (19) Ryan Shaw (20) Matthew Brennan  (21) Peter Smyth Team
(22) Nigel Kernoghan (23) Claire Gillespie (24) Aaron Swan (McAtamney)
(25) Martin Robb Bann Valley (26) Gerry McCullagh Bann Valley (27) Tommy Wilson (28) Jim Burns (29) Connor Young (30) Emma Smyth (31) L. Bamber (32) Sean Kelly Bann Valley (33) David Kennedy (34) Maurice Carruthers (35) Tom Douds (36) Steven Dempsey (37) Beresford Millar .
All riders are Ballymena RC unless stated otherwise.
DNF Quinton McFall, Eileen Burns, George Graham 
The youth race was held over one lap of the same circuit and Breandan McCavana took the honours in 30 minutes 54 seconds which was 29 seconds clear of second placed Caolan Stuart whose time was 31 minutes 23 seconds.