Wallace Caldwell Memorial

Wednesday, March 13, 2013
Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – have a full field of eighty riders and a reserve list of ten riders for their forthcoming Wallace Caldwell memorial road race which takes place on Saturday 23rd March. The Ballymena Road Club entry includes Michael Carroll, Matthew Brennan, Ryan Currie, Karl Taylor, Simon Taggart, Chris Beattie and Hall Booth.
 Amongst the favourites are former winner Gary Cranston (Madigan) and his team mate Glen Kinning who is a former winner of the Red Hand Trophy. Thomas Martin (Eurocycles) Simon Williams (Orchard) and James McMaster (Curran) are also on the entry list. Former BRC members Conor and Leo McAlister (CRC Vitus) have also entered but are currently on the reserve list.
The Mighty Caldwell is the first major test of the season and provides the tour of the north hopefuls with a dress rehearsal for the big Easter stage race the following weekend.The route for the Caldwell race starts from Galgorm and follows a course to Ahoghill, Portglenone, Maghera, Garvagh, Ringsend, the outskirts of Limavady and Coleraine then on to Aghadowey, Agivey, Kilrea and Portglenone.The final climb up Tully often proves decisive as anyone moving clear here has only a short downhill stretch to the finish at Galgorm.
The result of last year’s Wallace Caldwell Memorial Road Race:
(1) Ryan Sherlock (Cycleways)
 (2) Fraser Duncan (Eurocycles)
 (3) Gary Cranston (East Antrim )
 (4) Mark Buchannan (North Pole)
 (5) Thomas Martin (Eurocycles)
 (6) Liam Curran (Curran Racing)
 (7) Leo McAllister (Chain Reaction)