Road Racing Continues.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

It was a day for the younger riders at Saturday’s John Moore Memorial road race promoted by Castlereagh CC when 19 year old Nathan Mullan (Dromara) took the win in the A4 race and 18 year old Daniel Stewart (East Antrim) lifted the John Moore Trophy in the main event of the day.It was a tough day with constant light rain accompanied by a biting, Easterly, wind making it bitterly cold; this caused a number of riders to abandon halfway through the races.
Coming to the line the A4 bunch were lined out and it was Nathan Mullan of Dromara who found the legs to go clear winning the race by a couple of bike lengths. Paul Johnston from East Antrim sprinted in for second just ahead of Johnny Taylor of Carn Wheelers. Damian Fegan of Lanterne Rouge took fourth position and was followed in by Barry Kellat of Dromara and Derek Ferguson of Kings Moss. Ballymena’s only finisher was Hall Booth who completed the seven lap event in the top twenty.The main event of the day was the John Moore Trophy race for A1, A2 and A3's who were set off with a short handicap between each group. In the closing stages Daniel Stewart made a break for it and rode clear to a solo victory followed in by his East Antrim team-mate Gary Cranston. Conor McIlwaine of Errigal, took third position.Fourth and fifth came down to an exciting sprint between two juniors Conor McAteer of Bann Valley and Mark Downey of the Nicholas Roche team with McAteer just pipping Downey on the line. Kinning took sixth.Results John Moore Memorial 2013 - CarryduffA Race (A1- A3 riders)(1) Daniel Stewart (East Antrim) 2 hours 04 minutes 44 seconds (2) Gary Cranston (East Antrim) @ 2 secs (3) Conor McIlwaine (Errigal) @ 4 secs (4) Conor McAteer (Bann Valley) @ 36 secs (5) Mark Downey (N. Roche Team Standard Life) (6) Glenn Kinning (East Antrim)B Race (A4 riders)
(1) Nathan Mullan (Dromara) 1 hour 33 minutes 19 seconds (2) Paul Johnston (East Antrim) (3) Johnny Taylor (Carn Wheelers) (4) Damian Fegan (Lantern Rouge) (5) Barry Kellet (Dromara) (6) Derek Fergusson (Kings Moss)

Martin Ruddy was the only Ballymena Road Club rider to feature in the results at Sunday’s McCann cup road races at Seskinore, when he rode to tenth place in the Masters (over 50’s) race which was won by Jim Doyle of Foyle CC.Results McCann cup Time Square Jeweller’s Masters race (1) Jim Doyle (Foyle) (2) Michael Tolan (Phoenix) (3) Geoff Hewitt (Phoenix) (4) Shay Giles (North Pole) (5) Seamus Keenan (Omagh Wheelers) (6) Eunan Devenney (Strabane Lifford) (10) Martin Ruddy (Ballymena Chain Reaction)A race – A1 and A2’s – 110km (Points for Top 10)(1) Gary Jeffers (East Tyrone) (2) Connor Murphy (Eurocycles)  (3) Stephen McKenna (Omagh Wheelers) (4) Aaron Deane (Foyle) (5) Conor McIlwaine (Errigal CC) (6) Des Woods (Newry Wheelers)B race A3’s – 90km (Points for top 8)(1) Matthew Heaney (Clann Eireann) (2) Cathal Doyle (Carn Wheelers) (3) Mark Shannon (Burren) (4) Bobby Kane (Ballymoney) (5) Gary McDonald (Team DMG) (6) Alex Donald (Phoenix)