Road Club Representation in 2013

06 February 2013

After the first five weeks of registration Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – has a total of 110 members. The 2013 open racing season commences on 23rd February with the Annaclone Grand Prix road race, followed the next day by the Phoenix GP at Nutts Corner.

It’s hard to imagine shedding the thermal training tights for lycra racing shorts in just over two weeks’ time but that’s exactly what the road racers will be doing.

Ballymena Road Club will be represented across all categories from youth to veteran again this season.

Our under 14 youth riders are newcomers John Elliott and Caleb Dempsey, both of whom were introduced to the club through the Autumn and Winter fun tour series.

At under 16 BRC have newcomers Caolan Stuart and Philip McGreevy. Emma Gordon, who won the youth league in 2012, Breandan McCavana and George Graham (schools champion)

The Juniors are: newcomer Danny O’Loan, club junior champion Connor Young and Ryan Shaw.

Those with full competition racing licences include: Former Bann Valley member and top veteran - Michael Carroll, Simon Taggart, Hall Booth, Chris Beattie, who is the club’s road race champion, Karl Taylor, Ryan Currie, (the clubs road race league winner in 2012) Matthew Brennan, Nigel Kernohan, (time trial handicap league winner 2012) Alan Blair, Quinton McFall, David Dougan, Brian Geddis, Claire Gillespie, Ryan Bankhead, who won the Inter-club road racing league in 2012. Adrian Kerr, David McClean, Martin Ruddy, Leo McCavana and Gavin Scullion.

The open race restricted category has three licence holders, namely: John Maxwell, club time trial champion - Steven Workman and MTB racer Mark Wright.

When it comes to taking part in the Road Club’s mid-week club race events the above list of juniors, restricted category and full licence holders will be joined by another 24 riders who hold club competition licences. This will give a panel of 50 potential entrants for the club races; this is a very healthy situation. This list includes veteran champion Bobby Currie and ladies time trial best all- rounder Emma Smyth.

The cycling (Non race) membership category is the biggest section in the club with 46 members. This is where the club’s touring section and those who join the club to help out at events have their membership.