Town Hall date For Fun Tour Cyclists

20 December 2012
The date for the presentation of awards for the recent Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – fun tour series has been confirmed as Tuesday 8th January 2013.On that date the Mayor of Ballymena Mr. P.J. Mc.Avoy plays host to the cyclists who took part in the autumn and winter series, at a special reception in the "Mayor’s Parlour” in the Town Hall.
 This year’s series produced 73 medalists with 26 earning bronze for five tours, while 23 won silver for eight tours and another 24 attained gold for eleven or more. Nine cyclists achieved full attendance, namely, Martin Ruddy, Danny O’Loan, Pius McKernan, Iris Grant, Sean and John Elliott, Jim Doherty, Maura Bradley and Rex Bonar.The 2012 series has proved to be the best ever with a total attendance over the thirteen weeks of 779, an average turnout of almost 60 riders, with 133 different riders completed at least one fun run.One of the organisers was touring committee member Richard Wilson and he said "We were really very fortunate this year with the weather conditions. We only had one wet Saturday and even then the rain didn’t last for the full tour.
 This obviously contributed to the record numbers who turned up each week. I gratefully acknowledge the assistance and support for this year’s series. Alan Blair took charge of the "A” group, while Patsy McGurk and Paul Patterson looked after the "B” group."The touring section bunch was where most of the newcomers and youth riders participated and I received help here from numerous people including, amongst others, Laurence O’Neill, Billy Jebb, Alan Mark and Pius McKernan”"Many thanks also to Rex Bonar who was in attendance, and first to arrive, each week to open up the car park and the club rooms and to Martin Ruddy for his weekly reporting and Garmin satnav downloads” added Richard