Prize Dinners

Monday, November 26, 2012
This season’s club race series was sponsored by Northstone, which was the company’s thirtieth season backing the Railway Street based club.The youth section events were organised by Adrian Kerr with assistance from Hazel Gordon, and a few others along the way.
Hazel’s daughter Emma, from Fenagh road won the Dave Millar cup for the youth racing league.Thirteen year old Emma, a student at Cullybackey High School, amassed a total of 109 points for a comfortable winning margin over second placed George Graham, who scored 94 points while Breandan McCavana finished third on 70 points. (4) Andrew Wallace 49 points (5) Ernie Graham 27 (6) Adam McCullough 10 (7) Stefan Wills 9 points (8) Josh Barr 8 points. Emma also won the youth’s road racing league series for the McAuley and Kerr cup. In this competition, which had five rounds in 2012, she amassed 50 points. Andrew Wallace, who won the Clarkes tyres cup road race at Broughshane, took second with 39 while Breandan McCavana, the winner of the Sandy Spence cup RR at Glarryford, finished third overall on 36. (4) George Graham 34 (5) Adam McCullough 10 points. Ernie Graham won the Samuel Mark shield for the youths’ time trial BAR with an average speed of 18.754 mph, Emma Gordon was second with 17.508 mph. George Graham won the youth mini stage race "schools championship” event at Broughshane for the Greer cup and also the Brian Russell inter schools trophy. George will also collect the track shield for the event at Ballymena showgrounds.
The club’s Junior champion is Connor Young who recorded times of 10 minutes 38 seconds for five miles, 22 minutes 04 seconds for 10 miles and 55.34 for 25 miles for an overall winning average speed of 27.466 mph. Connor also finished equal first along with Emma Smyth in the Gardiner cup 10 miles handicap result. Runner up in the junior BAR is Ryan Shaw with 12.06 (5 miles) 24.16 (10 miles) and 60.54 (25 miles) overall average 24.716 mph. Ryan also won the Combat Cancer cup 25 miles time trial on handicap.The club’s ladies champion is Emma Smyth and she will collect the "rose bowl” as winner of the ladies time trial BAR with an average speed of 23.170 mph. Bobby Currie once again topped the veterans section for the Henderson cup. Bobby won this age standard contest by beating his standard times, over 10, 25 and 50 miles, by a total of 47 minutes 37 seconds. Nigel Kernohan rounded off an excellent club racing season by winning the Club’s Time Trial handicap league series. The ten races, in the Northstone sponsored league, covered events at 5 miles, 10 miles, 25 miles and 50 miles as well as the GP of the Glens Time Trial.Nigel, from Teeshan road, amassed a total of 29 points which included handicap wins in the McQuigg cup 50 miles time trial and the GP of the Glens. Nigel’s talent wasn’t confined to just time trialling as he also finished fourth in the road racing league series having won two events during the season. Nigel’s road racing success came in the Rex Bonar cup road race at Broughshane on 2nd July and the Randalstown short circuit event on 6th August. Ryan had a great season and won the Club’s road racing league series, for the William Smyth cup.Ryan, who won the Star Trophy GP of the glens road race and was second in three races, including, round one’s H&M Wilson cup race at Slaght, which was won by Ryan Bankhead; the A Bonar cup at Broughshane and the short circuit road race at Randalstown, amassed a winning total of 51 points. Chris Beattie the final round’s Will Henry cup at Glarryford and the Sammy Connor cup at Broughshane, which this year was the club’s road race championship, was just two points behind on 49 points. Connor Young, who collected maximum points at Clough, finished third on 46 points. (This event went to visiting rider Aaron Swan)
Ryan Currie was also successful on the club’s time trial scene. He won the Water Margin cup, which is awarded to the rider with the fastest 10 miles time trial of the season, when he clocked 21 minutes 53 seconds on his way to winning the Gardiner cup event on the A26 Lisnevenagh road course on 1st August.He also clinched the Australian Pursuit mini-series, for the Tommy Smyth cup, by winning the 18 miles event on the Slaght, Caddy circuit on 25th April.
Hat-trick of BAR wins for Workman.
Steven Workman has successfully retained the Club’s Time Trial best all-rounder champion’s title for a third successive season.Steven will collect four items of silverware at the club prize presentation. The premier prize is of course the Sam McQuigg cup for the club’s senior time trial best all-rounder competition. This has three qualifying distances at 10 miles 25 miles and 50 miles.Workman’s winning times were; 22 minutes 39 seconds for 10 miles, 52 minutes 49 seconds for 25 and 1 hour 51 minutes 12 seconds for 50 miles. This represents a winning overall average speed of 27.290 mph.Steven Workman also won the Stan Finlay memorial rose bowl for the 10 miles time trial at Woodgreen on 18th April, his time on that occasion was 22 minutes 39 seconds.Steven’s next win came in the Grand Prix of the glens time trial on 20th June when his winning time of 1 hour 35 minutes 51 seconds earned him the Tommy Talbot cup. Trophy four for Steven was the Ernie Mark cup 25 miles time trial at Woodgreen on 25th July when his winning time was a personal best 52 minutes 49 seconds.
Other winners of perpetual trophies in 2012 include:Tommy Wilson who won the Ballymena Borough Council cup for the three day race on 6th 7th and 8th August. Simon Taggart won the Sherdan Caldwell memorial shield for the Crebilly hill climb for the second successive season.
The final trophy in the club’s collection is the "Friendship cup” which is awarded each season to the club member who is deemed to have made the best non-competitive effort during the year.This "club person” of the year award won’t be announced until Friday night, we will just keep you guessing until then.