Time Trial Results

03 July 2012

Ballymena Road Club  Chain Reaction Cycles  were forced to abandon their annual Sam McQuigg cup 50 miles time trial last Wednesday evening.

Torrential rain, just before the scheduled start, made the road surface condition extremely wet and this, combined with the dark conditions and spray from passing traffic rendered the cyclists almost invisible. There was no chance of waiting half an hour and having a later start because of the time it takes to complete the race, so even if the weather had improved there was no way all the riders could have finished before lighting up time.

Hopefully another date can be found for this important race as soon as possible.

It was back to Woodgreen on Thursday night for the third round of the David McCall Foundation / Bikedock TimeTrial series. The unpredictable weather of late probably put a few testers off but for those who made the journey they remained dry. Some good times were recorded on a night where conditions were described as "a little less than perfect".

The event also doubled as the Martin Kennedy memorial with the trophy going to the fastest rider on the night Ronan McLaughlin from the An Post team who recorded a personal best for the distance of 19 minutes 50 seconds for the 10 miles test. Second place was taken by John Heverin (Clann Eireann) with 20.20. Completing the top three was Robert Stewart (TVR) with a 21.23. Best for Ballymena Road Club was seventh placed Matthew Brennan who clocked 22 minutes 04 seconds.

Ronan McLaughlin was presented with the Martin Kennedy cup by Brian McGookin, Secretary of Old Bleach CC. Martin was tragically killed in 1997 and the cup was raised in his memory.

David McCall Foundation TT Series Rd 3 Results - 10 mile Woodgreen 28/06/12

(1) Ronan McLaughlin (An Post) 19 minutes 50 seconds (2) John Heverin (Clan Eireann) 20.20 (3) Robert Stewart (Team Vision) 21.23 (4) Thomas Martin (Eurocycles) 21.27 (5) R Millar (Bikeworks) and M Watson (Ards) both 21.59 (7) Matthew Brennan (BRC) 22.04 other BRC (21) Derek Dougan 23.50 (24) Adrian Kerr 24.36 (26) Ryan Shaw 24.54 (32) Maeve Savage 27.33