BRC Ladies win Bronze Medal

16 May 2012

Woodgreen was the venue for last Tuesday evening’s Ulster 25 miles team time trial championships.

Twenty three teams turned out to take part in the Phoenix CC promoted event, which has grown in popularity over the years, so much so that the UCD team of Colm Cassidy, Ian Richardson, Anthony Walsh & Con Collis decided to extend their stay in the North, following the Tour of Ulster, in order to take part. It was well worth their while as they emerged as overall victors on the night. They recorded 49 minutes 44 seconds.

However the Ulster champion’s title went to the Chain Reaction Team of Leo and Conor McAllister, Kyle Houston and Andrew Hedley who clocked 51minutes 51 seconds.

Phoenix A (John Smyth, Desi Foley, Jay Gault and Chris Meenan) weren’t far behind with 52 minutes 08 seconds but had to be content with silver on this occasion while taking bronze were East Antrim with 53.13 (William Larmour, Gordon Scott, Jim McConnell & Peter Kennedy).

Ballymena Road Club fielded a relatively inexperienced team but Stephen and Peter Smyth, Martin Ruddy and Nigel Kernohan still managed to "beat the hour” when they recorded 59 minutes 06 seconds.

There was an entry of four women's teams with Bann Wheelers (Kay Hack, Anne Paul & Alison Rankin) taking victory by a narrow margin of nine seconds from Phoenix (Therese Smyth, Karen Hull, Deborah Masterson & Val O'Neill). The Ballymena RC women’s team was a mixture of "youth and experience” and their quartet of Emma Smyth, Louise Fullerton, Eileen McFarland & Maeve Savage took the bronze with 65 minutes 22 seconds.

Ulster Team Time Trial Championships:  
(1) Chain Reaction 51.51(2) Phoenix "A" 52.08 (3) East Antrim 53.13 
(14) Ballymena Road Club 59.06

Women's Championships:  
(1) Bann Wheelers 64.06 (2) Phoenix 64.15 (3) Ballymena RC 65.22

Fastest time on the night UCD 49 minutes 44 seconds.


Last Monday evening’s BRC youth section 4.8 miles time trial from Broughshane to Ecos and back was won by Ernie Graham in 15 minutes 21 seconds. Emma Gordon was second with 16 minutes 05 seconds.