Maeve Wins in Dromore

30 April 2012
Maeve Savage, from Randalstown, followed up Karl Taylor’s success at Drogheda last weekend by giving Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – their second road racing victory of the 2012 season.
Maeve’s success came in the ladies race at the John Beggs’ memorial event at Dromore. Maeve and the other ladies took part in the four laps, 38 miles, "Masters” race where she actually finished ninth across the line, beating many of the male competitors along the way.
Leo McAllister and his brother Conor were sixth and ninth respectively in the main A1 A2 A3 event.
John Beggs Memorial RR – Dromore – (A1-A3)(1) Ronan McLaughlin (Sean Kelly An Post) (2) Sean Downey (Sean Kelly An Post) (3) Roger Aiken (Banbridge) (4) Connor McConvey (Sean Kelly An Post) (5) David Wherity (Stamullan) (6) Leo McAllister (Chain Reaction Vitus) (7) Javan Nulty (Dunboyne) (8) Craig Sweetman (Stamullan) (9) Conor McAllister (Chain Reaction Vitus)
Time Square are Jewelers Gold Cup 50+ Masters                                                                     (1) Noel Boyce (North Down) (2) Phil Beattie (Banbridge) (3) Ian Cochrane (Banbridge)
Women (1) Maeve Savage (Ballymena Road Club - Chain Reaction Cycles) (2) Louise Togneri (North Down) (3) Heather Gould (Phoenix) (4) Karen Hull (Phoenix)
 U16 Race (1) Mark Downey (Banbridge) (2) Matthew Teggart (Banbridge) (3) Aaron Swan (TSC Racing)
Harps CC promoted the Mid Ulster Grand Prix on Sunday at the Sandholes circuit near Cookstown in bright but very blustery conditions.
Glenarm’s Conor McAllister took second in the A race after wiping out a three minutes starting handicap during the early laps of the ten mile circuit.
Once the bunches were together McAllister (Chain Reaction Vitus) rode through and was then joined by a group of three -Thomas Martin and Conor Murphy of Eurocycles and John Heverin (Clann Eireann) This quartet continued to work together to maintain a gap of over a minute on the chasers, which they held to the finish. In the sprint for the line Murphy got clear and took victory ahead of McAllister, Martin and Heverin. Alistair Steele (Spires) won the bunch sprint for fifth with Leo McAllister taking sixth.
The under 16 race saw success for local pair Aaron Swan and Craig Crawford of TSC racing when they took first and second places.
A Race (A1-A3) Results – MidUlster GP(1) Conor Murphy (Eurocycles) (2) Conor McAllister (Chain Reaction Vitus) (3) Thomas Martin (Eurocycles) (4) John Heverin (Clann Eireann) (5) Alistair Steele (Spires CC) (6) Leo McAllister (Chain Reaction Vitus)