Fun Tours 2019

26 October 2019
Ballymena Road Club cyclists completed their 2019 series of fun cycle tours last Saturday morning. Despite the early morning frosty conditions there was still a turnout of 44 riders. 

This year’s series was held over 8 weeks with a total turnout of 410 riders. The biggest week witnessed 72 cyclists turn up at Rex Bonar House. There were 124 different participants. Once again the Air Ambulance NI was the chosen charity and a total of £905.15 was collected during the series. No one, of course, wants to avail of the Air Ambulance service but it is satisfying that the club lends its support to such a worthy local charity. 

Participants from the Mid and East Antrim borough council "sofa to saddle” initiative also took part in this year’s fun tours and they too were out again on Saturday. They continue to improve and on Saturday they completed a 38 miles ride to Tullygrawley, Cullybackey, Ahoghill, Randalstown, Antrim, and back to Ballymena via Drumsough and Magherabeg. The touring group completed a ride to McLaughlin’s corner at Rasharkin, Vow Road to Ballymoney then home by Bravallen and Mullan roads to Dunminning. 

The mayor Maureen Morrow will host the presentation of certificates and medals in the mayor’s parlour on Monday 25th November at 7.30pm. The charity donations for the Air Ambulance NI will also be presented on that occasion. The successful medallists for the series are as follows: Bronze with three tours: Elizabeth Anderson, John Blair, Graham Bonner, Bernadette Carmichael, Peter Drennan, Keith Elliott, Ewan Harkness, Hazel Hughes, Nigel Kernohan, John Maxwell, Darran Moody, Lemund Moody, Phillip Morrison, Alastair Petticrew, Elle Reid, Isobel Warwick, Kurtis Williamson and Joe Wilton. Bronze with four tours: Robert Clarke, Iris Grant, Patsy McGurk, John McKillop, Owen McLaughlin, Paul Murdoch, Hannah Neill, Trevor Reid and John Shaw. Silver with five tours: Russell Allardice, Geoff Allen, Maura Bradley, Laura Campbell, Christina Clarke, William Clarke, Sammy Connor, Ronnie Grant, Marbeth King, Deirdre McAuley, Darran McCorriston, Michelle McNeilly, Davy Rankin, Martin Ruddy, Lexi Scott, Andrew Steele and Chris Warwick. Silver with six tours: Jane Deering, Sammy Kerr, Gerry McCullagh, Paul McQuillan, Bernie Monaghan, Karl Redmond and Peter Simpson. Gold with seven tours: Stephen Brimstone, Jim Burns, Siobhan Fisher, Bert Kernohan, Pius McKernan, Sophie Matthews and Peter Steele. Gold with a full attendance of eight tours: Geraldine Burton, Bobbie Currie, Derek Dougan, Johnny Fisher, Jackie Knowles, Beresford Millar, Kay Rainey and Richard Wilson. 

Congratulation to all who took part and many thanks to those who helped supervise and guide each of the groups throughout the series. Also many thanks for your generous donations to the Air Ambulance NI.