Tommy wins Star Trophy!

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Tonight saw BRC  host their annual Star Trophy handicapped Road Race on the Glens circuit, taking in Carnlough, Waterfoot, Cargan, Martinstown and finishing on the Ballygarvey Road in Broughshane.


With a 20 minutes handicap from front to back, it was always going to be a tough ask for the Scratch group. Group 3 including BRC’s Eileen Burns, Katharine Smyth and Tommy Wilson overcame their handicap by halfway up the Glenariffe climb, and by the top 5 of the original group had broken clear, including Smyth and Wilson. They worked well together on the descent towards Ballymena and held off scratch to the line. In the sprint which followed BRC’s Tommy Wilson took the sprint, in turn winning the 2019 Star Trophy.



  1. Tommy Wilson – BRC

  2. Callum Orr – NDCC

  3. Shane McNeill – Ballycastle CC

  4. Graham Evans – Spires CC

  5. Katharine Smyth – BRC

  6. Adrian McGregor – Dunloy CC

  7. Ryan Beech – BRC

  8. Peter Smyth – U/a

  9. Luke McMullan – BRC

  10. Eileen Burns – BRC

  11. Philip McGuigan – Dunloy CC

  12. Shay Donley – Holdsworth

  13. Jon Hilditch – BRC

  14. Laura Campbell - BRC