McGlinchey and McCrystal star at Red Hand Trophy!

Saturday, June 1, 2019
Hot on the heels of a great ride at the Tour de Yorkshire with his Vitus Pro Cycling team, Chris McGlinchey has taken a big win on home roads. 

He was a solo victory at the Red Hand Trophy promoted by Ballymena Road Club. The event was the third round of Cycling Irelandís National Road Series, with McGlinchey taking his first victory in that series. Team mates Conor Hennebry and Sean Hahessy had won the opening two rounds; the Des Hanlon Memorial in Carlow and Donal Crowley Memorial in Blarney. However, when a large breakaway went clear today the two fancied men from Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo werenít in it. Their team had strong representation up front in the shape of James Curry, though he was forced to settle for a place on the podium rather than take a victory. 

 McGlinchey was really impressive in the Tour de Yorkshire; making the breakaway on stage 2 but also finished only two minutes down on the final stage when the racing really split to pieces. Rather than wait today for a sprint at the finish from a breakaway, he attacked the lead group. He was initially with Adam Ward (Bio-DHL-FRS) and Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles). However, McGlinchey would then press on alone and eked out a modest gap on the chasers, which reached a maximum of about 15 seconds. 

 Those behind continued to chase and as the finish line neared it looked like he might be caught. However, he was up to the challenge; holding off the pursuers for his second victory of the season on home roads. Curry took 2nd place behind McGlinchey, with UK visitor Jake Gray of Ribble Pro Cycling rounding out the podium. Results: Menís Race: 

1. Chris McGlinchey - Vitus Pro Cycling 
2. James Curry - Dan Morrissey 
3. Jake Gray- Ribble Pro Cycling 
4. Adam Ward - Team Bio Racer/DHL 
5. Darnell Moore - Team Caldwell 
6. Lindsay Watson - Powerhouse Sport 
7. Craig McAuley - Team Caldwell  
8. Richard Maybin - Ballymena RC 
9. J Butler - Team Bioracer 
10. Luke Smith - Team Bioracer

Eve McCrystal won the ladies race. 

Today BRC hosted the 3rd round of the Cycling Ireland National Road Series with 27 women signing on to compete over the famous and unforgiving course of the Red Hand. The womenís race covers exact same course at the men, see the women compete over 100km of racing. The bunch split coming over the hills of Clough village with a leading bunch of 8 riders, including the 2 teams of BRC and Strata3-Velo Revolution. Many attacked were attempted throughout race. McCrystal was the one to make her attack stick. Eve jumped along the coast road and stayed away. Eve had a one point 1min57sec from the chasing riders. Coming into the last remaining miles of the race the bunch had pulled Eve back to 23sces. However, Eve showing her class and strength finished strong and took a solo finish at the line! 💪🏼 Remaining riders played tactics coming into the last mile to the finish, with riders jumping in the last 600m to sprint for the line. Ellen McDermott (Team Boompods) won the bunch sprint to take second, with Martha Claffey ( UCD Cycling Club) taking third. Grace Young (Strata3-Velo Revolution) took 4th and so retains her Nationals Road Series Jersey.

1. Eve McCrystal
2. Ellen McDermott 
 3. Maura Claffey 
4. Grace Young 
5. Agnieszka Wozniak 
6. Eileen Burns 
7. Katherine Smyth 
8. Sharon Bird 
9. Laura Campbell 
10. Emma Desmond 
11. Gabriella Homer 
12. Isobel Oakes 
13. Jennfier Bates 
14. Ciara Kelly 
15. Julie Rea 
16. Beata Golczak 
17. Megan Davenport 
18. Marcia Salvador 
19. Catherine Mahoney 
20. Monica Freiband 
21. Yvonne Doran 
22. Niamh Stevens 
23. Roisin McGiver 
24. Roisin McGivern. 

 Kate Earlie. DNF Ellie Kelso DNF