BRC in action at Lurgan GP!

15 August 2018
Last Sunday, 12th August 2018 saw some top class racing as Apollo Cycling Team held their ever popular annual Lurgan GP / Billy Stewart Cup road races. With over 140 riders from across Ireland and almost perfect weather conditions, the scene was set for fierce competition.

This is the 3rd year Apollo CT has used their new course which takes in the village of Waringstown as well as the greater Lurgan town. A challenging course featuring a mixture of fast open roads and some small but sharp hills on the rolly Clare Road before a fast flat run for the finish on the main Gilford Road out of Lurgan.

Several BRC riders were in action at the event. A big well done to Gary Walker taking 7th in the A2/A3 race and Tommy Wilson taking 3rd in the Vet's.

1st Stewart Thompson, Spires CC 
2nd Gary McCullough, Team Madigan
3rd Shaun Carey, North Down CC
4th Drew McKinley, Newry Wheelers
5th Neil Seffan, VC Iveagh
6th Mark Heather, Clonty
7th Gary Walker, Ballymena RC
8th Andrew Headley, Ards CC
9th Ciaran Slattery, Tralee
10th John Davidson, VC Iveagh

1st Steffan Rafferty, Armagh CC
2nd Lee Somerville, Lakeland CC
3rd Tony Willis, Armagh CC
4th Kieran Byrne, Lakeland CC
5th James Mackin, Dromore CC
6th Michael Gormley, Carn Wheelers
7th Steven Wensley, East Tyrone CC
8th Sean Lyness, Apollo CT

1st Colin McCloskey, Apollo CT
2nd Ian McClure, Northern CC
3rd Tommy Wilson, Ballymena Road Club

1st Maeve Gallagher, Castlebar CC
2nd Meta Johnston, Team Madigan
3rd Lee Donaldson, Apollo CT