Luke takes Star Trophy!

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

With Storm Hector approaching the north coast it was a hot debate throughout the day whether tonight's Star Trophy would go ahead. Nevertheless 31 riders signed on to compete over the 40 mile circuit, which saw them battling through rain and wind around the north coast, including a gruelling head wind on the inward leg from the crest of Glenariff climb into Ballymena. The Star Trophy is a handicap race and so the bunch was split into 3 groups set of at intervals of 5 minutes and 4 minutes to scratch. 
As expected the Glenariff climb is where the 3 groups merged and continual jumps and break away attempts were repeated along the remaining 13 mile race to the finish.

Edward Kearney of Pheonix CC came in first over the line closely followed by Shane Smith (McNulty's). 

First BRC rider Luke McMullan (4th overall) is awarded the Star Trophy; starting in scratch. Well Done Luke!

Thank you everyone for a great nights racing. Thank you to all to helped with sign on, marshalling and finish line. 


1. Edward Kearney Phoenix CC
2. Shane Smith Moynalty
3. Craig Gibson Carn Wheelers
4. Luke McMullan BRC
5. Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers
6. Shane McNeill Ballycastle CC
7. Luke Higgins Ballycastle CC
8. Ryan Beech BRC
9. Peter Smyth BRC
10. Laura Campbell BRC
11. Eileen Burns BRC
12. Phillip McGuigan  Dunloy CC 
13. Michael Scullion Carn Wheelers 
14. James McConnell BRC
15. Adrian McGregor Dunloy CC
16. Sammy Foster BRC
17. Darren Shiels  Spires CC
18. Graeme Evans  Spires CC
19. Rob Lawrence BRC
20. Ryan McNeilly BRC
21. Mark Glendinning  Spires CC
22. Nigel Tennant BRC
23. Alastair Murray TBS
24. Gary Walker BRC
25. Gary McCappin BRC
26. Jon Hilditch BRC
27. Dale Bonnar BRC
28. Eddie Hampton BRC
29. Paul McQuillan  BRC