Donaldson wins Wallace Caldwell Memorial Road Race!

21 April 2018
Gary Donaldson from Team Caldwell Cycles triumphed at the Wallace Caldwell Memorial Road Race today. The event was sponsored by Nadine's Diner, Ballymena. 

The race had a very fast start out through Ahoghill and Portglenone with a number of attacks, but none really getting established. On to Maghera, Swatragh and Garvagh the race eventually split, with a large breakaway establishing itself, and staying away over Cam Forest and on to the steep Springwell Forest climb. Behind the break the main field split apart on the climb. 

At the front of the race, despite several attacks and breaks the riders came together again on the approach to Galgorm, however a small group established a slender lead at the front and stayed away to contest the sprint finish, with Gary Donaldson taking the win. 
2018 Wallace Caldwell Memorial Road Race, sponsored by Nadine's Diner

74 miles - 2hrs 55mins 31 secs

1. Gary Donaldson - Team Caldwell
2. Ronan McLaughlin - Team Vino
3. James Curry - VC la Pomme
4. Mark McClure - Team Caldwell
5. Matteo Cigala- Team Vino
6. John Buller - Banbridge CC
7. Conor McCann- Inspired Cycling
8. Darnell Moore - Team Caldwell
9. Richard Maybin - Ballymena Road Club - Chain Reaction Cycles 
10. Lindsay Watson - Powerhouse

1st unplaced A2 - Des Woods - Newry

1st unplaced A3 - Shay Donnelly- NPRT 

1st BRC- Richard Maybin
2nd BRC - Gary Walker 
3rd BRC - Katharine Smyth

Thanks to all marshals, helpers and volunteers. Your help is much appreciated. Thanks also to the CU Commissaires, the PSNI and motorbike marshals. A huge thanks to Nadine's Diner, Ballymena for their sponsorship of the event.