Town Hall date for Fun Run's

06 December 2011
Ballymena Road Club – Northstone – cyclists held their thirteenth and final fun tour of the season last Saturday morning.
Forty eight riders turned up and, for the most part, they enjoyed great weather conditions for the time of year.
The weather has been kind to the series this year with no postponements at all, unlike last year when the snow and ice caused the cancellation of the final week.
The touring group completed a 45 miles ride, in completely dry conditions. Their route took in Whiteside’s Road, Crea Road, Ballymontenagh, Ballybollen, Taylorstown, Moneyglass, Toomebridge, Bellaghy, Gulladuff, Culnady, Innisrush, Clady, Portglenone and then, for the umpteenth time this series, back up Tully to Ahoghill, Gracehill and Ballymena.
The "A” group did manage to get wet on their ride to Kilrea, Garvagh and Portglenone and they also had mechanical problems en-route which spoiled their day. Nevertheless they too had a 45 miles outing.
Sixty riders qualified for medals this year (eleven bronze, seventeen silver and thirty two gold) and they will be presented with their certificates of merit and medals at a reception, which will be hosted by the Mayor Mr Hubert Nicholl, in the town hall on Wednesday 14th December at 7.30pm.
A presentation will also be made that night to the Chernobyl children’s appeal NI, when the proceeds from the donations made during the "Nine glens challenge” and the fun tour series, will be handed over to the local organisers.
This year’s charity fund currently stands at an impressive £862. Anyone who hasn’t yet donated, and who wishes to do so, should contact club treasurer Richard Wilson this week.
One hundred and eleven different individuals completed at least one fun tour this year with a total attendance of 701 over the thirteen weeks. This is an average weekly turnout of 54, with the biggest turnout, 66, on week three.
A full list of medallists reads:
Bronze with five tours: Sean Kelly, Sam Laverty, Judy Mahon, Brigid Quinn.
Bronze with six tours: Grahame Bonner, Ryan Currie, Gerry McCullagh, Simon Taggart.
Bronze with seven tours: Derek Agnew, Josh Barr, Maeve Savage
Silver with eight tours: Hall Booth, Seamus Butler, Pius McKernan, Cormac McWilliams, Philip Wilson.
Silver with nine tours: Maurice Carruthers, Alan Donegan, Louise Fullerton, Peter Lamont, Gordon Lennox, Owen McLaughlin, Millar Montgomery, Adrian Moody, Emma Smyth.
Silver with ten tours: Geoff Allen, Hazel Hughes, Kevin McLister.
Gold with eleven tours: Maura Bradley, Sammy Connor, Michael Diamond, Derek Dougan, John Hunter, John Maxwell, Patsy McGurk, Paddy Mooney, Lori Phillips, Martin Ruddy, Maria Shannon, Ryan Shaw, Stephen Smyth, Andrew Wills.
Gold with twelve tours: Donna Carroll, Steven Carruthers, Bobby Currie, Tom Douds, Ronnie Grant, Iris Grant, Jackie Knowles, Joe McAuley, Hugh McCullough, Paul McWilliams, Karl Taylor, Richard Wilson.
GOLD with thirteen tours, full attendance: Alan Blair, Liz Carey, Christina Clarke, Clifford Grant, Sammy Kerr and Peter Smyth.