Prize Dinner

22 November 2011

Ballymena Road Club – Northstone – cyclists will hold their annual prize presentation dinner in Leighinmohr House Hotel this Friday 25th November at 7.30pm.

Over one hundred club members and their guests are expected to attend the function, tickets for which are still available from club treasurer Richard Wilson. Anyone who hasn’t paid yet should do so before the night of the dinner.

The club has a huge collection of silverware which has been gradually added to since its formation in 1954.

The main prize-winners are:

Steven Workman, who is the club’s time trial best all-rounder winning the Sam McQuigg cup and also the Ernie Mark 25 miles time trial cup, the Water Margin cup, for the fastest 10 miles time trial of the club season and the Stan Finlay memorial rose bowl for a 10 miles time trial.

Tommy Wilson – winner of the A Bonar, Star Trophy, Sammy Gaston, road race cups and the William Smyth cup for road racing league. Tommy also won the Tommy Talbot cup for the glens time trial.

Adam Kerr – winner of the Samuel Mark shield as youth time trial best all-rounder. Dave Millar cup for the youth racing league. McAuley and Kerr cup for the youth road racing league. The Greer cup for the inter schools championship and the track shield for the fastest lap at the showgrounds.

Peter Smyth – winner of the time trial handicap league cup. Also the Combat Cancer 25 cup, Sam McQuigg 50 miles cup and Gardiner 10 miles cup.

Louise Fullerton – winner of the rose bowl for the ladies time trial best all-rounder.

Alan Blair – winner of the H&M Wilson road race cup and the Tommy Smyth cup, which this season, for the first time, goes to the winner of the Australian pursuit series.

Bobby Currie – winner of the Henderson cup as veteran time trial best all-rounder on age standard.

Steven Carruthers – winner of the RF Linton trophy as junior time trial best all-rounder. Steven, along with Josh Barr, also won the Brian Russell inter schools team trophy for Cambridge House.

Simon Taggart, who will be absent from the dinner as he is getting married, won two trophies during the season – the Sammy Connor cup road race and the Sherdan Caldwell memorial Crebilly hill climb shield.

Individual trophy winners were:

Emma Gordon, who won the Clarkes tyres road race for the youth event at Broughshane.

Chris Surgeoner, who won the Sandy Spence cup for the youth road race at Glarryford.

Philip Bremner – Clough Rangers road race shield.

Connor Young – winner of the Ballymena Borough council cup for the three day race.

One other trophy – The Friendship cup – is still to be announced and the recipient will be disclosed on Friday night.