Blair International Red Hand Trophy - 5 days to go!!

Monday, May 22, 2017

This Saturday (27th May) sees Ballymena Road Club, (ChainReactionCycles, Northstone NI), host the 2017 Blair International Red Hand Trophy event.

ballymena logo

The Red Hand Trophy is one of the longest running road races in Ireland and was first run in 1968. Throughout the years the race has been won by many famous names including hat-tricks for the Promoting Club`s late Billy Kerr (1975, 1977 & 1980) and Ryan Connor (2001, 2007 & 2009).

In 2016 the race was won by Ryan Reilly (Foyle CC).

Below: The late great Billy Kerr 


The trophy itself dates back to 1896 when it was presented to the Red Hand Cycling Club which existed in Ballymena at the time. Known then as the Lancashire`s Lemon Soda Cup it was first presented to FJ McCann in July 1896 at a race around the cinder track at the Recreation Grounds (now Ballymena Showgrounds). The trophy was presented to Ballymena Road Club in 1968 by solicitor, the late Jack McCann and was named the Red Hand Trophy.



 Above:  Ryan Connor