2016 Blair International Red Hand Trophy - Sat 28 May

21 May 2016
This Saturday sees Ballymena Road Club Chain Reaction Cycles Northstone NI host the 2016 Blair International Red Hand Trophy. The Red Hand Trophy is one of the longest running road races in Ireland and was first run in 1968. Throughout the years the race has been won by many famous BRC names including the late Billy Kerr (1975, 1977 & 1980), Barry Fullerton (1995), Sean Wright (2004) and Ryan Connor (2001, 2007 & 2009). In 2015 the race was won by Fraser Duncan (Team Asea). 

The trophy itself dates back to 1896 when it was presented to the Red Hand Cycling Club which existed in Ballymena at the time. Known then as the Lancashires Lemon Soda Cup it was first presented to FJ McCann in July 1896 at a race around the cinder track at the Recreation Grounds (now Ballymena Showgrounds). The trophy was presented to Ballymena Road Club in 1968 by solicitor, the late Jack McCann and was named the Red Hand Trophy.

The 2016 race rolls out on Saturday 28th May from the BRC Clubrooms on Railway Street at 11am. The 65 mile race remains neutralised until Rathkenny, where it turns left along its traditional route through Clogh, Loughguile, Armoy, Ballycastle, Cushendall, Waterfoot, Carnlough, before finishing in Broughshane.

The club would like to thank Blair International Transport for their generous sponsorship of the 2016 Red Hand Trophy. Any club members who are available to assist in any way at the event should contact Jason Burns or Paul Murdoch as soon as possible.