Madigan GP

10 August 2015
Dave Watson (North Down) won last Saturday’s Madigan Grand Prix in Carrickfergus. The Bangor man beat seven others in the finishing sprint with Omagh veteran Paul Mulligan (Caldwell Cycles) second and Mark McKinley (Newry Wheelers) third. Phoenix CCs riders Aaron McGrady and Mike Millar were fourth and fifth and shared the King of the Hill primes. Ballymena man Matthew Brennan did a strong ride for sixth. Matthew said "I knew going in to Saturday’s race that I was getting good legs after my ride the previous night at Ballymoney where I managed to get away for the win. The course at Madigan GP suits me too, with a decent climb each lap. From the first mile there was an attack which I went with. This turned out to be the move of the day. With half a lap to go we were told we had 30 seconds and everyone stopped working. I was keen to keep everyone working. With less than a mile to go and with 4 of us remaining in the break we were caught by a small group. This turned in to the sprint. I’m not a sprinter so was happy to take 6th!"
Ballymena’s Eileen Burns won the ladies race.

Madigan A Race
(1) Dave Watson - North Down (2) Paul Mulligan - Caldwell Cycles (3) Mark McKinley - Newry Wheelers (4) Aaron McGrady - Phoenix (5) Mike Millar - Phoenix (6) Matthew Brennan - Ballymena Road Club Chain Reaction Cycles.

Madigan Ladies’ race. 
(1) Eileen Burns - Ballymena RC (2) Catherine Smith – Madigan (3) Karen Hull - Phoenix