Star Trophy

22 June 2015
Ballymena Road Club Ė Chain Reaction Cycles Ė will hold their Star Trophy GP of the Glens road race as part of their Northstone sponsored club race series this Wednesday evening from Broughshane.

The event will start on the Carnlough road at 7pm sharp and will follow a course out through the Braid and down Glencloy to Carnlough before continuing around the coast road to Waterfoot.
Then itís up the 5.8 miles climb of Glenariff glen on through Cargan, Martinstown and Rathkenny before turning left on to Ballygarvey road and the finish back at Broughshane.
The road clubís touring section completed much of this route last Saturday and at that time there were no road works or obvious obstacles.
Last season there was a turnout of almost 50 riders for the event and they started off in four groups with zero, 4, 7 and 11minutes handicaps.  The first three groups came together at various points on the main climb of the race at Glenariffe glen.  
The scratch group finally made contact just as the race came out of Martinstown heading for Rathkenny. 
Hopefully a similar handicap will be invoked this year and, when successful, the handicap can contribute hugely to the success of the event for all the participants.
Johnny Taylor (Carn Wheelers) was first home last year with Ryan Bankhead, in third place, the first BRC finisher.

Ryan Bankhead currently leads the road racing league series League after the last roundís Sammy Connor cup event which was the third round of the clubís road racing league series for the William Smyth cup. The current league positions are (1) R Bankhead 28 points (2) Richard Reid 19 (3) and (4) Tommy Wilson and Matthew Brennan 18 points each (5) Stephen Little 12 points (6) Gary Reid 10

The next round is scheduled to be the clubís road race championship on the Lisnamurrican circuit at Broughshane on Wednesday 8th July.

Marshalls for the GP of the Glens race are: Bobby and Ryan Currie, Maxine Surgenor, Dermot and Hazel Hughes.