Glens Time Trial

15 June 2015
Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – held their annual Grand Prix of the Glens time trial, as part of the Northstone sponsored series of club races, last Wednesday evening. 
Fourteen riders lined up at the start at the Ecos centre roundabout on the Broughshane road and they faced a route which took in Carnlough, the Coast road to Waterfoot and then the near six miles ascent of Glenariff glen. The final miles were in through Cargan, Martinstown and Rathkenny before the left turn at the Cushendall road roundabout to the finish on Fry’s road.

The route in both 2013 and 2014 saw the race start and finish in Broughshane (to avoid a clash with a band parade) while this year’s edition was back to the traditional starting and finishing points. 

The fast improving Jason Burns was second fastest 2 minutes 51 seconds behind Workman while Brennan was another 25 seconds slower in third place.

Jason Burns improved on last year’s performance to win the handicap section. He commented "There was a slight head wind out and along the coast in places. I felt good but probably lost my time up Glenariff from Waterfoot; but at least I'm getting quicker.”

Results – fastest 

(2) Jason Burns 1-40-58 
(3) Matthew Brennan 1-41-23 
(4) Daryl Sempey 1-54-25 
(5) Stephen Little 1-58-44 
(6) Martin Ruddy 1-58-49 
(7) and (8) Neil Millar and Colin Scullion 2-00-54 
(9) Ryan McNeilly 2-03-06 
(10) John Maxwell 2-07-14 
(11) Quinton McFall 2-14-04 
(12) Beresford Millar 2-27-15.
(1) Jim McConnell (East Antrim) 1-46-52

(1) Jason Burns 1-40-55 

(3) John Maxwell 1-46-26 
(4) Beresford Millar 1-46-56 
(5) Stephen Little 1-49-40 
(6) Matthew Brennan 1-50-06

Handicap league table.
Jason Burns leads the time trial handicap league after the first three rounds. He has 13 points, Daryl Sempey and Eileen Burns are equal second on 10 points each.