Club Race Programme

12 April 2015
This season’s Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – club race programme continues Wednesday 15th April at 7pm, when the Stan Finlay memorial 10 miles event takes place on the A26 course at Woodgreen.
Race officials are: Andrew Wills, David Dougan and Trevor Thompson.

Round two of the scratch league will be at Ahoghill on 22nd April. The marshalling team at Ahoghill are; Chief marshal – Martin Ruddy assisted by; Geoff Allen, Paul Murdoch, Ronnie Grant, Iris Grant, Owen McLaughlin, David Kennedy and Wilnor Worthington.

The scratch series is concluded at Slaght on the Caddy circuit on 13th May.

The first month’s racing is completed on 29th April when the H and M Wilson cup 26 miles handicapped road race takes place from Slaght over three laps of the Caddy circuit.
The majority of the club race events, in the Northstone series, take place on Wednesday evenings from 8th April until the end of August.

During that time the club will promote a total of twelve road races, three 10 miles time trials two 5 miles time trials, three 25 miles time trials and one 50 miles time trial. They will also have the Grand Prix of the glens time trial over the Broughshane, Carnlough, Waterfoot, Glenariff circuit on 10th June.

The club race season is concluded on Friday 28th August when the Sherdan Caldwell memorial hill climb takes place at Crebilly.

Race secretary David Dougan commented on this year’s programme. "There aren’t too many changes this year. The main difference is that the road race championship is a stand-alone event in 2015. We have switched from the mainly flat Shedding’s circuit to the more undulating Lisnamurrican course at Broughshane. It will be held on 8th July and will cover six laps – 30 miles.

The Sammy Connor cup scratch event, which in recent years has doubled up as the club road race championship, will still be held on the Shedding’s circuit, it takes place on 3rd June.”
"The other change to the calendar relates to the running of a 25 miles circuit time trial from Slaght corner on 12th August.” Added David