Club races commence next week

30 March 2015
Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – will hold their first club event in the Northstone sponsored series next Wednesday evening, 8th April, at Broughshane where round one of the scratch road race series will take place on the Sheddings circuit.  
The main senior / junior event will be held over two laps – 22 miles, while the youth race is scheduled for one lap.
Last season, when the scratch series was first introduced, Ryan Bankhead produced his now customary strong finish to lead in the field a full length and a half ahead of Connor Young with Neil Millar in third place.
This leading group of riders were all timed home at 51 minutes 28 seconds.
Ryan Bankhead went on to win the series for the Tommy Smyth cup, last year.
Marshalls for this race are John Maxwell, Len Russell, Sammy Kerr, Tom Douds, Maria Shannon, Maura Bradley, Philip Morrison and Maurice Carruthers.
The following week, on Wednesday 15th April, it is the turn of the club’s time triallists to take to the road when the Stan Finlay memorial 10 miles time trial is scheduled for the A26 Woodgreen to Dunsilly and back course. 
In 2014 club time trial champion Steven Workman was fastest of the 17 BRC entrants with a time of 21 minutes 14 seconds, while 2013 junior champion Connor Young finished second with 22 minutes 18 seconds. Ryan Shaw posted a time of 22 minutes 32 seconds to finish third.